special nibsIt’s a bit of wordplay on the name of my other blog (Scratchypen’s blog), but I found some old scratchy pen nibs hidden away among my Mum’s odds and ends that I inherited when she died.nibs2

I found them in a small box, labelled ‘Special nibs’. Most were dirty and encrusted in dried ink but with a little soapy warm water and effort they are back in to a useable state, ready to continue their creative journey. For those in the know about nibs and pens they are:

  • Dryad Handicrafts Leicester – size 1 and 1.5
  • C. Brandauer & Co – Baltic Pen No.163 – Birmingham
  • MacNiven & Cameron – Waverley – Birmingham
  • Osmiroid Rolatip – Broad (fountain pen nib)
  • William Mitchell’s “Script” Pen – 3   08/6
  • I think the odd blade thing is a scraper for getting rid of mistakes (I’m sure someone will let me know for sure)

They’ll never again be in a condition to do the finest calligraphy, but they will be great for journalling and scroll work in the mixed media stuff that I get up to.
Thanks Mum.

Comments
  1. Mark says:

    A great find and a lovely memory every time you use them

    • KP says:

      Hi Mark, Yes, typical of her. All sorts of things hidden in boxes. She was certainly a keen ‘creative’!
      Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

