Inktober – Day 30 – wreck

Posted: October 30, 2016 in #inktober
Tags: , , , , , ,

Inktober Day 30 – wreck. My last piece for the challenge.

There are no prizes for this challenge – but all those who take part are winners. Let me explain. If you want to improve in your artwork, then the only way is to practice. The more you draw, the better you’ll get. The only way to know what works, or what doesn’t, is to have a go. Experiment with what you do and how you do it.

For every sketch I’ve posted in October, there have been another four, five, six that I have rejected. Each one that is completed has been rubbed out, altered, re-drawn many times until I’ve got it to the best I can, in the time available. It isn’t easy, but easy is not necessarily good. That’s another thing I’ve learned – deadlines. For me they are a good thing, as I get really focussed as time starts to run out.

You also get the opportunity to look at the work of other artists who are doing the challenge. I’ve looked at many ink drawings over the past few weeks, and I would love to be as good as they are. But don’t get disheartened, learn from their inspiring work. And don’t be afraid to post your pictures – someone will learn from, and appreciate your work. And if someone cares enough to leave a comment (or a Like), take the positive from it, it must have been strong enough to elicit the response.

So, wreck … ship wreck, drunken wreck, nervous wreck? How about an old, 1940s pickup wreck? Poor thing’s been abandoned for years.

img_0640

Leave a Reply

